Mid-week update

Welcome to the middle of my first week planning and tracking meals!  Here is what I’ve learned already:

  • If I’m lucky enough to have a mid-morning nap (which happens after nights when I sleep 4 hours or less), then it’s usually about an hour somewhere between 8 and 10am so I have a late breakfast and skip my first snack…
  • I need to focus on PORTION SIZES!!!  Clean and healthy eating is for sure important, but so is portion size… and  over-estimating portion size leads to a big jump in calories!!
  • My 3 main meals of the day should be between 300-500 calories, while snacks should be up to 200 calories.
  • I can treat myself to something extra, even on a daily basis, but it shouldn’t be more than 200 calories.

Tuesday (total: 1701 calories):

Tuesday
Breakfast 771 calories (!!)
  • Large bowl of granola/muesli + 12g goji berries + 100g banana + milk
  • Coffee + milk
Lunch 408 calories
  • Pearl barley (50g dry) + 75g spinach + 30g sunflower sprouts + 1 tomato + 133g canned tuna + 87g canned corn + 66g Greek yogurt light
Snack 232 calories
  • 293g pineapple and 337g canary melon bowl
Supper 290 calories
  • Frittata: 2 eggs + 2 tsps ricotta + handful of kale + 1/4 bell pepper
Wednesday (total: 1251 calories):

I must admit that I’m not so good at organizing meal plans according to appropriate calories.  But hey, I’m trying!!  And I’ll get there, I promise you!

I know that the calorie count today is low but I seriously wasn’t walking around hungry or anything!!

Wednesday
Breakfast 452 calories
  • 2 hard boiled eggs + 2 thin slices of cheese + 2 pieces rye bread + lamb’s lettuce + 28g Greek yogurt light + radishes
  • coffee + mik
Snack 95 calories
  • 1 medium apple
Lunch 504 calories
  • 150g Pork meat + brown rice (50g dry) + carrots + 1/2 avocado
Supper 151 calories
  • 1 1/2 cups of Herbed zucchini soup (find the recipe here)
Extra 85 calories
  • 1 glass of red wine (We had a nice evening 🙂

Speaking of walking, since it was a rainy first half of the day, I didn’t get in my daily 3 hour walk with baby.  But after my 9 year old came home from school, we went to the bball court just outside our apt building so he could shoot some hoops and hubby and I walked round the area with baby (who am I kidding, of course we also shot some hoops, for the good old days when we were young and good at basketball).

bball

Tell me, is it as hard for you as it is for me to eat 5 times a day???
Leave a Reply

